Dayton's Professional Regional Theatre

Kevin Moore, Producing Artistic Director

126 North Main Street, Suite 300

Dayton, Ohio 45402

Box Office: 937.228.3630    |    Join our mailing list!

Buy tickets


The Human Race on Education

Philips Creativity Center

Kids and Teens Classes

Girl Scouts Workshops

Adult Classes

Private Coaching

Summer Theatre Camps

Schwartz Scholarship


Artist in Residence

Theatre in Context

Career Days/Job Shadowing

Performance Calendar


Supporting a new generation of talent

Stephen SchwartzIn September 2007, The Human Race Theatre Company created a scholarship that honors the musical theatre legend Stephen Schwartz - composer of Godspell, Pippin, The Baker's Wife, Children of Eden, Working, Wicked - and The Human Race's regional premiere of SNAPSHOTS: A Musical Scrapbook. The Stephen Schwartz Musical Theatre Scholarship is designed to support singer/actors in the greater Dayton area who are training for a career in musical theatre.

"We are so excited to recognize the incredible lifetime of work by Stephen Schwartz while assisting talented young performers from our region," stated Human Race Producing Artistic Director Kevin Moore. "With the founding support of Tim and Char Scroggins, and many additional gifts, to date we have awarded over $30,000 worth of scholarships to 37 very talented students."

"The musical theatre survives and flourishes only with the infusion of new talent," said award-winning composer Stephen Schwartz. "I've always tried to support and encourage emerging talent, and so I am proud and excited to have this scholarship named for me."

This year, The Human Race is offering a $1,500 college student award and a $1,000 high school student award.

The application deadline for the 2015 scholarships was Monday, February 16, 2015 at 4:00 pm EST. We are no longer accepting applications. 

All applicants must have a permanent address in Montgomery County or one of seven contiguous counties (Preble, Darke, Miami, Clark, Greene, Warren or Butler) or be currently enrolled at a college or high school in one of the eight counties previously listed.

The winners will be selected based upon their application, letter of recommendation and their video submission. All materials must be received by the deadline in order to be considered. Winners must be available for a public appearance in the Dayton area.

If you are interested in donating to the Schwartz Scholarship fund, please contact Development Director John Faas at (937) 461-3823, ext. 3111 or john@humanracetheatre.org.


Where are they now?

Here’s an update on a few of our previous scholarship winners (as of December 2013):

Jerome Doerger (2008) is a graduate of Wright State University who began his professional career in the national tour of Young Frankenstein, and was most recently seen in the Gateway Playhouse production of Disney‘s Beauty and the Beast.

Alex Finke (2008 and 2011) graduated from University of Michigan and is currently in the national tour of Anything Goes.

Jason Slattery (2009) graduated from Baldwin-Wallace College and has been working theatres across the country. He is currently performing around the world for Silverseas Cruise Lines.

Andrew Koslow (2010) graduated from University of Oklahoma and is currently performing in the national tour of Mamma Mia!.

Charity Farrell (2010) is a working actress in New York, and recently appeared in The Human Race production of Fiddler on the Roof as “Hodel.”


2013 Scholarship Winners


Carly Snyder of Centerville High School and Andrew Quiett of Wright State University with Stephen Schwartz.
Photo courtesy of Wright State University.

Previous Scholarship Winners




Erin Ullman,
Centerville High School

Zachary Jordan Steele,
Wright State University



Mimi Klipstine Dick, Interlochen Arts Academy
with Producing Artistic Director Kevin Moore

Alexandra Finke, University of Michigan
with Kevin Moore



Charity Farrell, Wright State University
with Stephen Schwartz and Kevin Moore

Andrew Koslow, University of Oklahoma
with Stephen Schwartz and Kevin Moore

Finalists with Stephen Schwartz
(l to r) Rachel Jones, Hilary Fingerman, Charlie Mann, Kelsey Hopkins, Schwartz, Charity Farrell, Alexandra Sunderhaus, Andrew Koslow



James C. Blanchard,
Cincinnati Christian High School

Jason Slattery,
Baldwin-Wallace College

Finalists with Stephen Schwartz
(l to r): Brandon Michael Fleming, high school winner James C. Blanchard (Cincinnati Christian High School), Kelsey Celek, Lucian Smith, Schwartz, Will Hutcheson, Lindsay Flick, Annabeth Kane, college winner Jason Slattery (Baldwin-Wallace College)



(l to r): Jason Slattery, J.J. Tiemeyer, college winner Jerome Doerger (Wright State University), Eric Byrd, Lindsay Flick, high school winner Alexandra Finke (Alter High School), Katelyn Yeager, Andrew Koslow